Announcing the 2017 Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award Recipient – Mark Pompelia!

The ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico Chapter congratulates Mark Pompelia on being awarded the 2017 Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award. Pompelia has been a member of ARLIS/NA since 1995 and a member of ARLIS/Texas-Mexico since 2000. In 2010, Mark moved to Rhode Island where he is the Visual Resources Librarian for the Fleet Library at the Rhode Island School of Design but has continued to be an active member of the Texas-Mexico chapter.

The $500 award supports expenses related to attending the ARLIS/NA annual conference in New Orleans, February 5-9, 2017. At the conference in February, Mark will take on a number of roles, acting as co-moderator for the Materials Special Interest Group and chair of the Finance committee as well as co-presenting a poster on Material Order, a shared materials database and consortium between Harvard University Graduate School of Design and Fleet Library at Rhode Island School of Design. In addition, Pompelia will write an article on his experience for the issue of the Chapter’s newsletter The Medium that follows the conference.

The LSJ award honors the memory of Lois Swan Jones, Professor Emerita of art history at the University of North Texas and charter member of the Texas Chapter. Established in 1992, the award supports and encourages participation of a member of the ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico Chapter at the national level by helping with conference expenses. Professor Jones authored several standard publications on art information research methods and received the 1996 ARLIS/NA Distinguished Service Award. The combination of her enthusiasm, commitment to education, and love for art history serves as a model for art information professionals.

I would also like to thank our Chapter contributors who made this year’s award possible. Read more about the LSJ award, and view a list of previous winners.

Helen Lueders

Chair, Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award Committee

Helen Lueders Chair, Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award Committee

Leave a Reply