Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award

Lois Swan Jones
Lois Swan Jones

The Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award honors the memory of Lois Swan Jones, Professor Emerita of art history at the University of North Texas and charter member of the ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico Chapter.

Professor Jones was the author of several standard works on art information research methods and a recipient of the 1996 ARLIS/NA Distinguished Service Award. The combination of her enthusiasm, commitment to education, and love for art history serves as a model for art information professionals. For more information, see: Remembering Lois Swan Jones.

The Lois Swan Jones award is made possible through contributions from chapter members and other supporters.


The Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award supports and encourages the participation of an ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico Chapter member in the ARLIS/NA annual conference by helping to defray conference expenses.

The Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award includes a monetary award to go toward conference expenses as well as a year of membership in the ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico chapter.

See LSJ Application to apply.


We welcome all donations towards the LSJ Award. Any amount truly makes a difference in supporting chapter members in their professional development. Please consider donating today!

  • Donations may be submitted online through our PayPal payment option (PayPal account not required).
  • Donations in the form of checks or money orders, made payable to  “ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico Chapter”, may be mailed to the current Chapter Treasurer, address listed on the membership form.

ARLIS/NA is registered as a 501 (c) (3) corporation. Contributions to the Art Libraries Society of North America are tax deductible in the United States to the full extent allowed by law. We regret to inform Mexican, Canadian, and other international members that their donation to ARLIS/NA are not tax-deductible.