Lois Swan Jones Award Recipients

The ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico Chapter congratulated Lauren Haberstock as the recipient of the 2020 Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award. 

Lauren Haberstock is a recent MLIS graduate of the University of Arizona. She is presenting a paper as part of the New Voices in the Professional panel at this year’s conference and will serve as co-conference liaison for ArLiSNAP. This will be her first ARLIS conference.

The $500 award will support expenses related to attending the ARLIS/NA annual conference in St. Louis, Missouri April 20-24, 2020.

The LSJ award honors the memory of Lois Swan Jones, Professor Emerita of art history at the University of North Texas and charter member of the Texas Chapter. Established in 1992, the award supports and encourages participation of a member of the ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico Chapter at the national level by helping with conference expenses. Professor Jones authored several standard publications on art information research methods and received the 1996 ARLIS/NA Distinguished Service Award. The combination of her enthusiasm, commitment to education, and love for art history serves as a model for art information professionals.

Thank you to our Chapter contributors who made this year’s award possible. For more information about the LSJ award, including a list of previous awardees, visit: http://texas-mexico.arlisna.org/lois-swan-jones-award/

Lauren Gottlieb-Miller
Chair, Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award Committee

Year Recipient Award Amount
2020 Lauren Haberstock $500
2019 Quentin Pace $750
2018 Elizabeth Schaub $750
2017 Mark Pompelia (RISD) $500
2016 Sarah Long $750
2015 Becca Pad (MIS Student, The University of Texas at Austin) $500
2014 Alison Larson (MLS Student, The University of North Texas; Crouch Fine Arts Library, Baylor University) $500
2013 Annie Sollinger (Austin) $500
2012 Mark Pompelia (Rhode Island School of Design) $500
2011 Mary Wegmann (UT Austin) $500
2010 Elizabeth Schaub (UT Austin) $500
2009 Nicole Davis $500
2008 Catherine Essinger $500
2007 Beverly Mitchell; Kathryn Pierce $500 each
2006 Janine Henri $750
2005 Katherine O’Dell $500
2004 Elizabeth Schaub $750
2003 Mary Leonard $875
2002 Polly Trump $500
2001 Joanna M. Cook; J. Brandon Pope $500 each
2000 Jon Evans $500
1999 Carl Close $700
1998 Beth Dodd  
1997 Polly Trump  
1996 Laura Schwartz  
1995 Allen Townsend; Monica Fusich  
1994 Janine Henri  
1993 Deborah Barlow; Ann Jones  
1992 Janine Henri $200