LSJ Award Recipients

The ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico Chapter congratulated Sarah Long as the recipient of the 2016 Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award. Long received her MLIS from the University of Washington in 2013 and was the library assistant in charge of acquisitions at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston’s Hirsch Library for eight years until a move took her to Rhode Island. She continues to maintain her membership ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico membership in order to stay connected with her former colleagues and friends.

The $750 award supported expenses related to attending the ARLIS/NA annual conference in Seattle, Washington from March 8-12, 2016.

Helen Lueders
Chair, Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award Committee


Previous Years

Year Recipient Award Amount
2016 Sarah Long $750
2015 Becca Pad (MIS Student, The University of Texas at Austin) $500
2014 Alison Larson (MLS Student, The University of North Texas; Crouch Fine Arts Library, Baylor University) $500
2013 Annie Sollinger (Austin) $500
2012 Mark Pompelia (Rhode Island School of Design) $500
2011 Mary Wegmann (UT Austin) $500
2010 Elizabeth Schaub (UT Austin) $500
2009 Nicole Davis $500
2008 Catherine Essinger $500
2007 Beverly Mitchell; Kathryn Pierce $500 each
2006 Janine Henri $750
2005 Katherine O’Dell $500
2004 Elizabeth Schaub $750
2003 Mary Leonard $875
2002 Polly Trump $500
2001 Joanna M. Cook; J. Brandon Pope $500 each
2000 Jon Evans $500
1999 Carl Close $700
1998 Beth Dodd
1997 Polly Trump
1996 Laura Schwartz
1995 Allen Townsend; Monica Fusich
1994 Janine Henri
1993 Deborah Barlow; Ann Jones
1992 Janine Henri $200