Applications are now being accepted for the 2018 Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award. This $750 award provides funding to send a Texas-Mexico Chapter member to the ARLIS/NA 46th Annual Conference in New York, February 25-March 1, 2017.

To meet the primary requirement, applicants must lack full institutional funding for the conference. Applicant must be a member in good standing of both ARLIS/NA and ARLIS/Texas-Mexico. Previous winners are eligible. A description of the award, application procedure, and a list of previous recipients can be found here:

The award committee urges everyone with interest and need to apply, especially first-time conference attendees. We also strongly encourage members of the chapter to promote this award within their own institutions.

Please let anyone you know who might qualify and benefit from attending the conference know about the award and encourage them to apply!

The award honors the memory of Lois Swan Jones, Professor Emerita of art history at the University of North Texas, by underwriting participation of members of the Texas-Mexico Chapter at the ARLIS/NA annual meeting.

Please feel free to send any inquiries to the 2018 award committee chair: Helen Lueders (Museum of Fine Arts, Houston) at

Other members of the 2018 committee are Samuel Duncan (Amon Carter Museum of American Art), Beth Dodd (University of Texas, Austin), and last year’s awardee, Mark Pompelia.

The deadline for applications is Wednesday, November 22, 2016.